b a n d   i n f o | history : members : interviews

h i s t o r y:
Eucharist was founded in Veddige, a little city about 40 km from Gothenburg, Sweden sometime around 1989. A demo which was released in 1992 became a classic in the metal underground. It was titled "Greeting Immortality". The same year, Eucharist released the "Greeting Immortality" 7" on Obscure Plasma, and in 1993 the band recorded a song named "The View" for a Peaceville compilation album called "Deaf Metal Sampler". Suddenly the band split up.

But soon after, Wrong Again Records asked them to re-unite and sign a deal, which they also did. Euchairst entered the studio and recorded their debut album "A Velvet Creation", which was released in 1993, but the cover was somewhat misprinted in the wrong color. In the summer of 1994, two tracks, "Wounded And Alone" and "The Predictable End" was recorded specially for a compilation album released by Wrong Again Records (W.A.R Compilation vol 1 - released in 1995).

Eucharist split up again and some members started playing in other bands. Daniel for example did the drums on two tracks on In Flames' EP "Subterranean". In 1996, Markus and Daniel started working with Eucharist again and they was instantly offered a deal by WAR Music (a new label risen from the ashes of Wrong Again Records) and "Mirrorworlds" was the result (released in 1997). But then again, Eucharist split up. For the third and maybe (?) final time.

In 2001, "A Velvet Creation" was re-released on Regain Records. This time remastered, and with the two songs from the "W.A.R Compilation" session as bonus-tracks. The cover was also printed in the right color this time, but Markus Johnsson's name was misprinted as Marcus Johansson.

Do you have corrections or more info?
mail me!

m e m b e r s: | top

1993 (A Velvet Creation session)
Markus Johnsson (guitars/vocals)
Thomas Einarsson (guitars)
Tobias Gustafsson (bass)
Daniel Erlandsson (drums)

1994 (W.A.R Compilation session)
Markus Johnsson (guitars/vocals)
Tobias Gustafsson (bass)
Matti Almsenius (guitars)
Daniel Erlandsson (drums)

1997 (Mirrorworlds session)
Markus Johnsson (guitars/vocals)
Martin Karlsson (bass)
Daniel Erlandssom (drums)

Line-up after the Mirrorworlds session)
Markus Johnsson (guitars/vocals)
Henrik Meijner (guitar)
Daniel Erlandsson (drums)

i n t e r v i e w s: | top

Face of decadence, October 1992
Koito Zine (date unknown)
Voices From The Darkside 2004
Nekrologium #7 1997
Mortician Magazine 1993